Blairistan

Home » Uncategorized » Angels in the Architecture

Angels in the Architecture

Archive

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

The last project I finished to bring along on the honeymoon was definitely the most time-consuming: a stranded pullover knit on 1s.  It was completely worth all the effort, though.

It’s Paper Dolls, with a few modifications, obviously.  But before we get into that, eeeee I’m so happy with how it turned out!   It really is  a fantastic, basic sweater pattern, and easy to tweak and change to your own style.  Initially, I was a little grumpy with myself for combining two patterns that I paid for separately into one project, but I already have pretty set plans for a second PD, so I think it’ll all work out.  (The stranded pattern is lifted from the Brocade Socks.  I thought it would give the pullover a sort of architectural look, and while that didn’t really happen, I love it all the same.)

I only worked on it off and on, which helped keep the stockinette section from getting too old  (it did go on forever, though).  The few modifications I made, in addition to the obvious, were mainly in reducing the amount of contrast color: shortening the bi-color ribbing to an inch and a half, and removing the two thin stranded patterns surrounding the main pattern.  The latter was also for aesthetic reasons, but I was really paranoid about running out of yarn.  I used Sundara’s October 2011 colorways, Portobello and Porcini Mushroom (how perfect for Italy, right?), so I very much could not run out and buy more if the need arose.  I now, of course, have half a ball left, but that’s life.  It will probably appear in the second PD.

 

Yep, absolutely knitting another one of these.

1 Comment

  1. […] actually a version of Paper Dolls–I made a different one last year, and loved it so much I immediately decided to make another.   The pattern is taken from a hat […]

Leave a Reply

